Green Pasta Sauce

Looking for a rich & creamy pasta sauce, but don’t want all the dairy, wheat, or work?  Like to get your greens in different ways?  Well, this should be one for you!

I’ve been buying asparagus from Sam’s lately as it’s just been so nice & healthy looking (and I’d never find it at a farmer’s market around here).  I like it so much, I buy two big bundles, thinking I’m going to try that new roasting recipe, or something, and then I forget & just steam it all at once.  Suddenly I’ve come up with a way to deal with some of the leftovers.

First, make a basic pesto.  Traditionally, that’s olive oil, basil, pine nuts, garlic, & grated parmesan, but of course, you can add or leave out whatever you like.  Honestly, I had made one without enough basil.  I had wanted to add some dandelion, like in this recipe, but I couldn’t find any in my yard 😦  so I came up with this idea instead.  In your small blender (I used the chopper attachment to my stick blender), add a handful of asparagus spears to some pesto & blitz until smooth.

Mine's a little chunky because I put slices of parmesan in there instead of grated.

That’s it.  Just add it to whatever pasta you’ve got on hand.  Since my asparagus was cold, I heated the sauce before I added some tortellini, and yum!  Smooth, rich, & creamy – and healthy too!  This could be dairy-free if you leave out the parmesan, and of course it’s gluten free.  If you steam fresh asparagus, you’ve got a 10 minute time commitment, but really, if you just want to open a can, I won’t tell (just don’t do it a lot if you’re trying to avoid BPA) and the whole sauce should come together in about a minute.

Hooray for a new way to sneak green veggies in on the kids!

Or you could always use it as a topper for your homemade No Knead Sourdough Rye Bread:  

Enjoy!  And please share any improvements you come up with!

This post is part of the Hidden Veggies Linky Party at Cooking Traditional Foods.

About bigcrunchyfamily

I'm a crazy-busy mother of 6, trying to live a healthy, natural, and green life balancing living, learning, and loving as well as I can at any given time.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Noodles, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

